4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

FULL EXHUAST SETUP HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2008, 10:41 AM
natedog
3rd Gear Member

Default FULL EXHUAST SETUP HELP!

Ok i have a 2001 gt with flowmasters... dont get me wrong they sound great, but I want them to be a lot louder and still as deep as they are now.I'm thinking of having a full exhuast setup. Car is a daily driver.
Should I get headers, an h-pipe, or both? And what brands? Something decent quality but still decent pricing.
Old 07-24-2008, 10:52 AM
20GT02

Default RE: FULL EXHUAST SETUP HELP!

If u want decent pricing, stay away from headers. Long tubes are VERY expensive if you pay to ahve them installed; about 400-500 for the part and about the same for the labor = @ $1000 for approximately 15hp. Shorties are a little cheaper, but you will only net about 5hp from them so throw that idea out the window. For about $100 - $350 (depending on if you want to run catted or cattless), you can get a mid pipe that will bolt to your stock manifolds. Ive heard that aftermarket H pipes have a deeper tone, but Ive always used X pipes on all of my stangs simply because they net more HP due to better design characteristics. X pipes have a higher, slightly more raspy pitch, but are LOUD, and VERY AGGRESSIVE. I decided to go with a UPR offroad X on my current car, and it only set me back about $150 w/ shipping, and only took me about 45 minutes to install on my garage floor with a friend. Power gains were noticable, and with the flowmasters I have the sound causes passing motorists to break their necks at me!
Old 07-24-2008, 11:33 AM
cubsstang14
2nd Gear Member

full slp w/ the loudmouth 1's. can't beat 'em
Old 07-24-2008, 11:55 AM
crewwolfy
2nd Gear Member

Why is an LT installation so expensive? I hear they're a PitA, but that's a lot of labor cost right there.