4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Easiest way to install front springs?

Search this Thread

Old 02-24-2010, 12:28 AM
StriderTacticaL
4th Gear Member

Default Easiest way to install front springs?

So I am planning picking up some stock Mach 1 springs this weekend but only plan on using the rears. I already know how I am gonna go about installing the rear springs but I've never done front springs before.

I plan on either trimming my stock springs or going with some 4cyl fox body springs. I've read several how-to write-up's but they all seem to instruct you to do different things.

So far, the easiest prodecure seems to be:

1. Lift car up and remove front wheels.
2. Put jack under A arm and lift until it is taking the pressure of the springs.
3. Remove the 2 strut bolts from the spindle.
4. Lower control arm slowly all the way and then pull springs out.

And installation would be the reverse. I guess i'll have a spring compressor handy incase I need one.

Does this sound right to you guys? Would I have to remove the caliper from the spindle between steps 3 and 4?

Thanks,
Brandon
Old 02-24-2010, 04:57 AM
Nestang
2nd Gear Member

These are basically the same thing, heres a link.

http://www.americanmuscle.com/ford-c...g-install.html
Old 02-24-2010, 02:55 PM
JerseyTrueBlue
1st Gear Member

You pretty much got it man. Just to let you know, my arms didn't drop enough to fully release the springs so instead of getting a compressor, I just stuck a breaker bar in the spring and torqued it up until the bottom popped out. Just be very careful, mine shot out hard enough to take a chunk out of my driveway lol.
Old 02-24-2010, 03:05 PM
hpwrestler220
6th Gear Member

You also need to disconnect the swaybar as well too? And the tie-rods too no?