4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

02 mustang gt/ cold air intake ?'s

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2011, 11:47 PM
Vikefan88
2nd Gear Member

Default 02 mustang gt/ cold air intake ?'s

i just bought a 2002 mustang gt convertible. Im new to modern mustang performance. I want to put a cold air intake. I have no idea which ones are best. Some have told me jlt other k&N. some have told me to get the complete system with the box and avoid the shorter ram air system. Can yall simplify it for me thanks!
Old 06-22-2011, 05:14 AM
uberstang1
Chupacabra

Simply use the stock tube with a good filter, CAI wont get you any power of the stock unit.
Old 06-22-2011, 06:34 AM
sinister99GT
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by uberstang1
Simply use the stock tube with a good filter, CAI wont get you any power of the stock unit.
+1 on that, dont wast your money unless you think they just look cool and you want to dress it up under the hood. you will see no noticeable performance gain for that money. it is better spent in other areas.
Old 06-22-2011, 03:21 PM
trailor
3rd Gear Member

i would recommend avoiding true CAI's, as they are a pain in the @ss to install in the fenderwell, plus they are more prone to water-soaking and get dirty a helluva lot faster. if you would be interested in a short ram intake, i have a k&n fipk gen 2 on my f150 and a jlt short ram on my stang. both seem to be of good quality and are around the same price. i like having a reusable filter and the apperance of both. another thing to consider, if you plan on doing any modifications to your intake manifold, is that jlt has the widest piping of all the popular aftermarket brands (i've compared to c&l, bbk, k&n, steeda, etc etc).