4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Hanging/High Idle after Cleaning HELP!?

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2012, 11:29 PM
GM2Ford

Default Hanging/High Idle after Cleaning HELP!?

So I'm new to the Mustang world. I'm make sure I don't leave anything out. Please read it all! Thank you!

I just bought a 1999 GT 5spd with 154k a week ago. The car runs great! SO here's the issue. About 4 days later, It has a K/N Cold Air Filter on it but it looked a little dirty. So I decided to clean it with the proper K/N Recharger Kit. Along with that I decided to clean the TB a little as well... So over night I let the K/N Filter dry with the new oil on it. After I put it on my brother noticed that I put too much oil on the filter. He said "You, know it's going to suck up and get on the throttle plate now." I said "okay," I took it for a spin everything seemed fine and was running perfect until the next day I started it up to REV the engine.

Here's the problem.

I start up the car and the rpms come down a bit slower than what normally I was used too. So as I rev the engine to about 3000rpms it takes about 4 seconds to get down too 1500rpms and then hangs there for about a second or 2 and then goes to 1100-950rpms. What the hell?

I've been reading forums and everyone says... Clean the IAC with carb cleaner. Check. Clean the TB again. Check. Spray the MAF with MAF cleaner. Check. Look for vacuum leaks... I made sure I took everything off that I did and put it back nice and tight. No leaks. I even sprayed Carb cleaner around the hoses end points to see if it would suck it up or notice a heistate in the engine speed. Nothing. Check.