4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

motor build question

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2010, 10:55 PM
BIGMAC9940
1st Gear Member

Question motor build question

hey guys i am planning on starting a motor build so that when i graduate college i will have a fresh motor to drop in after i have put many more miles on the motor. i know that these motors are 250k motors, but it is a good excuse to build a motor. so i have a lincoln mark viii motor sitting in a donor car that i can use or are there any better ideas. here are the parameters, 1. this will be a daily driver so mpgs has to be considered, 2. i would like a pretty stout motor, 3. i would prefer to stay away from f/i not that there is anything wrong with it but if you smash the gas with f/i your gas gauge falls quickly 4. i am a college student so cheapest route possible, this will be done over time though so i can spread out the cost. i was thinking take the mark viii motor and make it a high compression n/a motor, which would yield better fuel economy and better power correct? i know that big power and best mpg doesn't work well, but if you can keep your foot out of it they should. look at the zo6 it is 500hp and gets 24mpg highway i know that isn't awesome mileage but i could live with it considering the power. thanks in advance for all who reply.
Old 02-14-2010, 11:55 PM
SeeingRed
1st Gear Member

If you want MPG, go with a 4v motor, but have fun spending $$$. The only way you're gonna make a mean *** n/a 2v is if you go big bore and high compression, which is expensive. The machine work alone for a big bore is gonna run you around 2k for all of the cylinder boring, the honing of the sleeves, the cost of the sleeves themselves, etc. Even with that and monster cams like Comp 270s, you're only gonna be looking at the mid 300 range to the wheels.