Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

new member and new to mustangs...

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2010, 10:57 AM
rebel_logan

Default new member and new to mustangs...

hi im logan I own a 2007 Mustang GT with a few mods... im new to mustangs and fairly new to cars in general... i already have a dual axle back borla exaust set up and a steeda CAI now i am looking to better my mpg... i tend to have a heavy foot and would like to get higher mpg im averaging 18 mpg in town and bout 21 highway... what could i do to gain mpg and keep my power?

thanks, logan
Old 08-19-2010, 11:15 AM
mapitts
3rd Gear Member

Get you a Tuner and let up a little on the skinny pedal. Are you running stock wheel & tire sizes?
Old 08-19-2010, 11:19 AM
rebel_logan

yes the car is all stock aside from exaust, CAI and a few accessories... what tuner would be good for mpg? and if i was to get new wheels and tires what sizes would be good?
Old 08-19-2010, 01:04 PM
mapitts
3rd Gear Member

Look at a SCT X3 programmer. I have one with custom tunes, and am getting 17-18 MPG around town and about 25-27 MPG out on the hiway. I have a 5M w/ 3.73's as well. With an auto, you have 3.31's, so you kind of want to stick with stock wheel and tire sizes. That will eat up gas as quick as anything, not to mention rob you of power.
Old 08-19-2010, 01:37 PM
rebel_logan

ok thanks i have a 5 speed with the stock gears.. so aside from a tuner, intake, and tire/wheel sizes, what else can be done for better mpg?
Old 08-19-2010, 01:58 PM
highline
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by mapitts
let up a little on the skinny pedal.
nuff said
Old 08-19-2010, 03:57 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

The Steeda CAI is a tune-required CAI. Without a tune, you should be throwing a CEL for running lean. Are you sure the car isn't running an updated tune?