Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

DONT KNOW WHERE TO START...PLEASE HELP

Search this Thread

Old 11-16-2011, 03:49 PM
secondgen420

Smile DONT KNOW WHERE TO START...PLEASE HELP

i have an 08 mustang gt 4.6l v8, manual transmission...everything is all stock except for cold air intake and full exhaust...im new to mustangs and just started working on my own vehicle..im going to school for car audio,custom uhpolstery,and custom fiberglassing...i will be fully fabricating my interior what i need help with is the performance...where do i start upgrading my mustang..(in about 4 years when warranty expire plan on adding roush supercharger) so please keep that in mind when you give me advice...dont want any add ons i will have to remove when i get the supercharger...what to do first?....clutch,trans,headers,intake manifolds,camshafts????? any insight would be awesome and appreciated
Old 11-16-2011, 04:47 PM
JCON
5th Gear Member

clutch and trans are fine until after charging, leave them alone.

What is your goal with the car and how much do you want to spend on it?

The most common mods are intake, tune, exhaust.

If you go with a reputable intake and a full bolt on exhaust (headers back) and get it tuned, you will be making a great amount of horsepower for a non-power adder car. From there you could go with cams, FRPP hot rod cams are something you can do now and it won't void your warranty but will give you a great midrange and pull all the way to the increased redline (up to 6800 rpms without modifications to internals).

Don't forget a few things though, just as important as how you make the power, is how you get it to the ground. I would suggest dropping the stock wheels (if they are stock) and getting something that is 9.5 or larger in the back. Get good tires as well. NITTO 555R's seem to be a great one with good grip, wear, price, and selection of sizes.