5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Spring Compressor

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2006, 02:14 PM
83gtragtop
5th Gear Member

Default Spring Compressor

Hi guys,
I'm new to mustang forums and this is my first post. I'm in the process of installing eibach pro springs in my 1983 gt convertible. I'm also installing tokico hp shocks and struts and am upgrading to 1987 and up brakes with ssbc rotors and pads and maximum motorsports stainless brake lines. I finished the rear of the car in a just a couple of hours but I'm having trouble with the fronts. My problem is I can't seem to be able to get the new spring wedged into a arm spring pocket and the upper pocket, the spring is just to long. Everything is unbolted, so nothing is restricting the movement of the arm, it will move as far down as I like it to. So I figured I need a spring compressor but the one I bought is not going to work. I heard that it is hard to find a compressor that works with our cars. Does anyone have any experience using one with these cars and if so what kind, who made it? Need all the help I can get, tired of the car sitting in the garage!
Thank you,
Brian
Old 08-07-2006, 02:36 PM
88stangaruu
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Spring Compressor

i got one from Advanced auto. They're the ones that it had little fingers and you take a ratchet and tighten both sides down equally.
You need to make sure that when you start putting the compressor on, the springs little fingers need to go as high up on the spring on both sides as possible, so you get the maximum compression when you tighten it down, if thats the kind you have.

but good luck
Old 08-07-2006, 02:38 PM
silver91gt
5th Gear Member

when I did mine, I had to use those crapy spring compressors for strut springs.