5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

engine skip

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2007, 09:13 PM
Brian47p

Default engine skip

i got a 91 5.0 lx with a weird engine skip. the car starts out running perfect, and once the car gets to running temp. it starts to idle rough and skips randomly. i think my catalytic converters are going/gone. Could this be the problem? i have had it veiwed by 5 mechanics, top to bottom from timing to fuel to air to electrical and its none of those. The only thing i can think of is maybe my cats are backed up and the back pressure gets too high wen the exhaust starts to flow and get hot after about 15 minutes. i am no mechanic and was wondering if this is a possible cause to my very annoying problem. I also checked IAC and throttle position switch, cleaned them out and also cleaned out my intake. they were very backed up but never changed the skip. please someone help me the car is almost undrivable because it is so annoying to look like you are bucking your transmission when you are driving down the road.
Old 09-24-2007, 09:17 PM
Riceinator
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: engine skip

I have a similar problem. I've been told to change the TFI module. I haven't done it yet, and I;m not sure when I'll get it done, but if it's soon I'll let you know if it makes a difference.
Old 09-24-2007, 09:20 PM
PRO50SC
The Rogue Mod

Skip, as in miss? OK, 5 mechanics have looked at it and none of them can diagnose it? These guys work out of their back yards?[&:]

Bad converters will not cause an engine miss. Lack of power yes, but not a miss.Sounds like a secondary ignition problem. Does it do this under load, at idle or both?
Old 09-24-2007, 09:50 PM
Brian47p