Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

custom ipod holder...what do you think?

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2007, 03:35 PM
mustanglp87
1st Gear Member

Default custom ipod holder...what do you think?

Since im getting a head unit that has a touch screen and can control my ipod, im thinking about making a custom place to set my ipod. so heres my idea....im my 93 gt, i want to put the ipod in my center console right where the ash tray/cigarette lighter is. so im gonna relocate my cigarette lighter to somewhere hidden so that i dont have a bunch of wires (like ipod charger and radar detector) hanging in the middle of my console. and then i want to shape the ashtray area to fit my ipod snugly. does anybody have any ideas on what i could use to shape that area? i was thinking bondo maybe...i have no experience at all with fiberglass so thats pretty much out. any ideas would be awesome...thanks in advance
Old 07-19-2007, 03:00 AM
mustanglp87
1st Gear Member

Default RE: custom ipod holder...what do you think?

no input at all anybody?
Old 07-20-2007, 07:04 PM
ttocs
6th Gear Member

I made a charging station for my cell phone a while back. I cut the holes for thewires to go through as well as a small one for the belt clip to go through. I glued the phone holder where I wanted and then put the phone in it(after the glue dried of course) with the charging cord plugged in. I then glued the cordto the dash so that it would not move when I put the phone down or removed it. I then used bondo to fill the area around the cord and holder and smoothed it out. It looked pretty good when I was done and at least my dad thought it came with the truck. I smoothed my radar detector into my clock in a similar fashon, I am not sure what page it is on in my sig.......
Old 07-23-2007, 12:43 AM
mustanglp87
1st Gear Member