Shaker 500 CD problems - MustangForums.com



Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2011, 12:38 PM   #1
JcintaGT
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 2
Unhappy Shaker 500 CD problems

HELP! I am having a terrible time with the Shaker 500 system in my 07 Mustang. It sounds like there is a woodpecker living in the CD player! The CD player will not play, will not load a CD, and will not eject - I just get CD error on the screen. There is only this "unbearable clinking noise" that runs apprx. 3 minutes everytime I open the door or start the car. Anyone out there have any suggestions or ever heard of this before?
JcintaGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2011, 10:56 PM   #2
ttocs
6th Gear Member
 
ttocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 6,936
Default

your not using disks your recorded yourself are you? Did they have any labels on them? The shakers were always real sensitive about the thickness of the disks and would lock up easily.
Unfortunatly since ford started making cd players they have never been able to make a relaible transport mech for them and they always fail..... I know you like the indash changer, but I really think there is some kind of deal with the music industry that it locks up in the instant that it realizes that it has your favorite disks.... There are alot better sounding and much more reliable aftermarket systems for less then the stock changer will cost you(and 6 more cds)
ttocs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 10:24 AM   #3
JcintaGT
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: PA
Posts: 2
Default

No homemade CDs ....the same CD's that have been in the CD changer for over a year that I listen to everyday (figures..haha)..to me it almost seems like 2 of the discs got jammed on top of one another. I've tried everything the manual says to reset it, but that didn't help...your right time for something new, that's less hassle
JcintaGT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2011, 06:11 AM   #4
ttocs
6th Gear Member
 
ttocs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location:
Posts: 6,936
Default

sometimes disconnecting power to it for a few secs will reset it.
ttocs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2011, 10:23 PM   #5
hammonsw
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 1
Default

I have the same woodpecker in my shaker 500. does anyone know the solution to this problem.
hammonsw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 01:15 AM   #6
oldsch00lf00l
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 195
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hammonsw View Post
I have the same woodpecker in my shaker 500. does anyone know the solution to this problem.
Replace the Shaker 500! Mine was replaced ONCE under warranty. The second time it started acting up, I replaced it with an Alpine.
oldsch00lf00l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 12:01 AM   #7
Blue_steel
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: colorado
Posts: 112
Default

reviving this thread...but the best way to fix it is get an aftermarket stereo with a usb for mp3s.had the "skipper"500 until it did the exact same thing and ate six of my Cds.after I installed the aftermarket I managed to crack it open and get 3 of them back.now I have a 8gb usb with most of my music on it.
Blue_steel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2015, 02:19 PM   #8
jtd8
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 5
Default

Reviving this thread.... I would like to fix the CD player in my Shaker 500 because it also my Sirius Satellite radio. Anybody know a place that will repair them?
jtd8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2015, 03:51 PM   #9
Alan Coppage
 
Alan Coppage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: CA
Posts: 7
Default

There are several DIY vids on YouTube that give very detailed views of how to fix these players.
Alan Coppage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2015, 09:41 AM   #10
movielover40
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: MI
Posts: 1,426
Default

I believe your Ford dealership can remove it and send it out for repair.

Personally every car I've owned with a factory built in cd player skipped.
movielover40 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Picked up a 68 coupe, need help on intake/carb selection. uberstang1 Classic Mustangs (Tech) 6 09-20-2015 06:42 PM
Tuner/air intake dealer service question 04stangman 2005-2014 Mustangs 4 09-17-2015 01:45 PM
Help! Metra 70-5521 AMP Harness Install cbird1177711 2005-2014 Mustangs 2 09-03-2015 08:43 PM
Best Place To Run Power Wire/Firewall '08 cbird1177711 2005-2014 Mustangs 3 09-02-2015 08:51 PM


Tags
2007, 500, cd, eject, error, manually, mustang, player, problems, radio, shaker, stereo, system, wont, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 PM.