Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Subwoofer Randomly Drops Out

Search this Thread

Old 05-30-2015, 09:28 PM
rrobe53

Default Subwoofer Randomly Drops Out

I've had a 2015 GT with the non premium radio for around a month now, and I had a subwoofer added aftermarket. Since I've got it I've had a weird issue with the subwoofer. I'm no audio expert, but I don't want to take it to the dealership and have them say it's something besides their stuff and charge me. I bought the base model GT with the intent of switching out the radio to an aftermarket system once the kit is available. For now, I'm stuck with Sync.

Some facts
  • The subwoofer is a 12" subwoofer sitting in my trunk, with the amplifier on the back of the box. I have wedges in there to hold the box in place, so it doesn't slide around.
  • The bass is being fed off of my rear left speaker.
  • The aftermarket shop has replaced the subwoofer and the line level converter.
  • I primarily listen to music over my phones Bluetooth using spotify, and the Sync app for spotify. In doing such, I've noticed that sometimes the time of the song resets randomly and doesn't match what it actually is on the phone.
  • Treble/Mids are turned up, but Bass is set to +0.
  • Occupancy mode is set to optimize all (I have tried optimize driver with the same results).
  • I don't know the technical term, but the volume adjustment based off speed is turned off. I have tried it on and the problem is the same.

What I've observed.
  • The issue appears to happen near the beginning of the trip. If I go on a 2-3 hour trip, it'll only happen within the first few miles of my house.
  • With the sub being fed off my back left speaker, I've set the balance and fade to that speaker and observed the problem happening without the speaker dropping, so I don't believe the speaker is the problem.