Troubleshooting 8" Screen - MustangForums.com


Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2016, 02:11 PM   #1
Hawk6man
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: IA
Posts: 9
Default Troubleshooting 8" Screen

Hello all,

Base GT - So I bought one of the aftermarket 8" screens to replace the 4". I actually had it hooked up and working, but decided to add amp and stuff. I installed LOC back behind the stereo; after having that hooked up , and putting it all back together, now the screen won't turn on. The speakers are working I think; I hear loud *** chimes that I haven't heard, but no music, screen... It might be worth mentioning that I soldered...

All the harnesses are snug and all the wires look fine. I checked fuses 32 and 33 inside, and they are good. One fuse was blown under the hood, #54 Auxiliary power point, but changing that did nothing.

I'll still pretty new at this, and pretty frustrated I can't get all my stuff going. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.
Hawk6man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 02:33 PM   #2
jz78817
4th Gear Member
 
jz78817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawk6man View Post
Hello all,

Base GT - So I bought one of the aftermarket 8" screens to replace the 4". I actually had it hooked up and working, but decided to add amp and stuff. I installed LOC back behind the stereo; after having that hooked up , and putting it all back together, now the screen won't turn on. The speakers are working I think; I hear loud *** chimes that I haven't heard, but no music, screen... It might be worth mentioning that I soldered...

All the harnesses are snug and all the wires look fine. I checked fuses 32 and 33 inside, and they are good. One fuse was blown under the hood, #54 Auxiliary power point, but changing that did nothing.

I'll still pretty new at this, and pretty frustrated I can't get all my stuff going. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.
what touchscreen unit did you install, and what install/dash kit did you use? If you're hearing chimes, are there any warning messages on the cluster? you could have pinched/broken one of the CAN wires.
jz78817 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 04:13 PM   #3
Hawk6man
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: IA
Posts: 9
Default Screen

Quote:
Originally Posted by jz78817 View Post
what touchscreen unit did you install, and what install/dash kit did you use? If you're hearing chimes, are there any warning messages on the cluster? you could have pinched/broken one of the CAN wires.
Man, I kept trying to reply on my phone, and it was telling me I didn't have enough characters lol.

My aftermarket unit is just a bezel and the 8" screen. They're lookalikes to the 16 premium mustang. It's put on the new harness and plug and play.

That's a good idea about the chimes; those are new. I'll check the cluster later after work.

Thanks You.
Hawk6man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 04:59 PM   #4
Derf00
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: AZ
Posts: 10,712
Default

Did you have the battery disconnected while you were soldering things? Could've shorted something out.
Derf00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 05:11 PM   #5
Hawk6man
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: IA
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Derf00 View Post
Did you have the battery disconnected while you were soldering things? Could've shorted something out.
It wasn't disconnected. I guess my reasoning was the wires I was working on weren't connecting to anything.

I was soldering the loc to the speaker wires from the harness that wasn't plugged. I had already cut the other end of the wires from the speakers and ran new wire.
Hawk6man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 05:15 PM   #6
Hawk6man
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: IA
Posts: 9
Default

I guess I should mention it's a '16.
Hawk6man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2016, 10:27 PM   #7
Hawk6man
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: IA
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jz78817 View Post
what touchscreen unit did you install, and what install/dash kit did you use? If you're hearing chimes, are there any warning messages on the cluster? you could have pinched/broken one of the CAN wires.
There's no warning on the instrument cluster.
Hawk6man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 10:35 AM   #8
Hawk6man
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: IA
Posts: 9
Default

My friend told me I need to check power, ground, and constant to the screen, if all those wires are good, then the screen should be turning on...If the screen doesn't turn on, then it must be the problem. I think I know how to do this but I don't know. Snip the wires, then do some checking with a voltage reader?
Hawk6man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 04:58 PM   #9
Hawk6man
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: IA
Posts: 9
Default

Anyone know what the constant wire is going to the audio?
Hawk6man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2016, 01:47 PM   #10
Hawk6man
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: IA
Posts: 9
Default

Found the problem. The harnesses that came with new screen had a little plastic piece that stuck, and inside was a fuse. I never thought the harnesses would have a fuse; neither did a professional I went to. Well, it was blown, little 5 amp fuse, and that immediately fixed the problem.
Hawk6man is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Harness and Computer Redneck1465 Parts For Sale 0 03-08-2016 02:04 PM
Fuse box Lee1911 5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang 2 03-05-2016 05:34 PM
Fuse box Lee1911 General Tech 0 03-03-2016 08:05 PM
Installing a Aftermarket Sony Stereo buttonz75 Audio/Visual Electronics 0 02-26-2016 10:21 PM
94 Mustang GT Power Points and Headlights Problem ODiST General Tech 0 02-23-2016 10:48 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.