Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Newbie with a question

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2006, 12:38 AM
cgtk

Default Newbie with a question

Just joined a few minutes ago and looking for some info. My wife and I went to a car show today and she thinks I need a project car. As luck would have it, I found a 66 Coupe with 6 cylinder today. Not sure of mileage, a little rust on the hood and the right side has been scraped with bondo showing from a previous repair. It looks 100% original and in fair shape. The interior is worn but not trashed. The sign says it runs and is drivable, but I haven't driven it yet. I have lots of experience working with Jeeps, but none with classic cars. Is this an easy restoration and are there specific things I should look for in regards to condition of the car or equipment? They are asking $4K. Looking forward to your replies, thanks Tom
Old 09-18-2006, 12:40 AM
atomsk680
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Newbie with a question

post some pics and we can really tell if anything major is wrong, but the I6 is a slow engine, trust me, your going to want to have a V8, and its cheaper to just find a car with a V8 already.
Old 09-18-2006, 12:47 AM
Cannonball888
2nd Gear Member

Choose wisely because later you may say...

I could have had a v8!
Old 09-18-2006, 03:36 AM
289FB
2nd Gear Member

I agree, be sure that you are to be satisfied driving a 6 cylinder most buyers change their minds and spending a lot of money on modifications ending with a non-original car very difficult to sell..but is only my opinion.
Old 09-18-2006, 04:37 AM
deadcarnahans
3rd Gear Member

I hate to say this, but when it comes to Mustangs, sellers are asking way too much for junk.
You are better off buying a $11,000 car that is in good shape, than buying a $4000 piece of rust that needs $10000 in work.