Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

help with fuel sending unit please

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2007, 08:32 AM
deadmanrob
1st Gear Member

Default help with fuel sending unit please

Hi im rob and im new to this forum and new too classics . i have a 1970 ford mustang coupe . been in my family since around 80 and been sittin since ....around 81. my problem is i took out and cleaned the fuel tank and removed the fuel tank sending unit and am trying to replace it . now mine has a thin peice of aluminum or some other metal from the head to the body of the unit and has no filter on the primary shaft but the ones i am looking to buy has a filter on it and some sort of yellow wire in place of the thin metal . it says it is from a mach 1 70 and i asked the guy about it he said it will fit but wont work correctly if my car has some sort of indicator...... this is my first project classic and im trying not to ruin a good thing it needs work but its all cosmetic the car will run like a champ even after sittin for so long . please help me find the right sending unit and explain to me whats going on because one guy told me all 70's sending units are compatable and another tells me different.

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2560576theres a link to a page with the pictures when i first got it home . like i said its been sittin since about 80-81 and has what i believe to be 47,000 original miles on it . was my uncles first car in 80 and he wrecked it and my dad put it back together years back and eventually down the line it got to me for $150 and i plan on doing to this masterpiece what it deserves.
Old 03-01-2007, 09:02 AM
bodyputtyless
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: help with fuel sending unit please