Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Pedal to floor= bad performance? please diagnose

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2007, 09:12 PM
restomod87
2nd Gear Member

Default Pedal to floor= bad performance? please diagnose

Hey fellas, As the week has gone by i'm learning more and more about my new mustang, but along with all the good, comes the questions when you run into something out of the ordinary...Here is my Question:

My car is cranking and driving wonderfully at the moment, however I cannot and have not pushed my car performance wise because when i push the pedal to the floor (or give it alot of gas) it will almost hickup and seemingly choke a little. I am not very good with cars, and i'm going to see if my dad can take a look at it tonight, but i wanted to see if anyone has experienced this. My car was originally a 289 C code v2 carb. It has since been redone, and is now a 289 v4 carb with headers and holly. What could be the problem? Would the stock fuel pump be the cause of this? I'm not sure if it's a air issue or a fuel issue...thanks for all the other help i've recieved with other small things concerning my car and i hope this is an easy fix as well! I appriciate my car as a classic, and am not one to do burnouts or drive my car very hard, but periodically I would at least like to be able to gun it and show what my car can do without this choking out/ hickup thing.

P.S. the car doesn't choke completely out, it's just like it's not getting enough fuel for the engine to run at that speed and sputs and is not as intended...thanks
Old 06-03-2007, 09:28 PM
maverick75
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Pedal to floor= bad performance? please diagnose

check the fuel pressure going to the carb....it might be too low

PS as long as the tires are spinning burnouts dont hurt
Old 06-03-2007, 09:55 PM
connor90
4th Gear Member