Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

turbocharged 302...

Search this Thread

Old 12-22-2007, 09:14 PM
dlynch
2nd Gear Member

Default turbocharged 302...

was thinkin if anyone new anything about tiwn turbocharging a 302. just an idea but was thinking of a built 302 with twin turbochargers on it does anyone have anymore information on it?
Old 12-22-2007, 09:51 PM
Daze
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: turbocharged 302...

here is some info that may help it is on a 351, but the concept would be the same
http://www.toohighpsi.com/DadTT/dadTT.htm

and some more info
http://www.toohighpsi.com/BudgetTT/tt351W.htm

and some actual 302 info
http://www.homemadeturbo.com/forum/i...?topic=46125.0

Old 12-23-2007, 04:04 AM
dlynch
2nd Gear Member

thanks, i was really woundering what all i would need to do it. im new to the turbocharges. can you turbocharge a carburated car? what kind of wastgate all that...
Old 12-23-2007, 07:22 AM
67 evil eleanor
5th Gear Member

Theirs some good info in the Sept 2007 Hot Rod issue. One of my favorite is the guy that used a couple of John Deere turbos (T4's)and adapting them to his 5.0. The car runs in the high 10's and he built it from off the shelve parts from local stores (turbos from e-bay $250 ea, NIB). He was able to stay away from the speciality turbo shops andstill achieve the same results at a fractionof the cost comparedto a "out of the box" system.Thats "Hot Rodding".
Old 12-23-2007, 07:55 AM
musnicki
3rd Gear Member

Daze- I read through that 10 page thread that you linked, the 302 homemade turbo. Omg....that was a great read, not just the info that it provided but it was also entertaining too! I spent my whole breakfast flipping through that link, thank god that our Mustang forums are not like that.

James
Old 12-23-2007, 10:05 AM
Daze
3rd Gear Member

ORIGINAL: dlynch