Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Top end kit

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2011, 10:08 PM
Dennis Marks
2nd Gear Member

Default Top end kit

I am new to this so I need some opinions. In putting together a top end kit for my 91 302 HO this is what I came up with. TFS 170cc heads, Edlebrock Performer RPM intake, 600 Holly carb, E303 cam, TFS rockers, not sure what ignition, need advice. Rear is 3.92 posi. Any better combo for around 300 or so HP? Straight street car. This will be all I do for awhile so I have to live with what I do.
Thanks,
Old 03-22-2011, 10:23 PM
Starfury
6th Gear Member

Sounds like a good setup to me. I'm very happy with my Trick Flow heads. Make sure to include a set of chromoly pushrods in your budget; mine were something like $90.

What kind of ignition setup do you have right now? Factory points? Pertronix?
Old 03-22-2011, 10:39 PM
Sxynerd
6th Gear Member

What ratio rockers? Looks good though.
Old 03-23-2011, 02:48 AM
67mustang302
6th Gear Member

Get a better cam, and you'll prolly want something like like a 650 than a 600, or even a 750 with the gears you have.
Old 03-23-2011, 06:34 AM
Dennis Marks
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by Starfury
Sounds like a good setup to me. I'm very happy with my Trick Flow heads. Make sure to include a set of chromoly pushrods in your budget; mine were something like $90.

What kind of ignition setup do you have right now? Factory points? Pertronix?
Factory ignition. Any suggestions? Thanks for the suggestion on pushrods.
Old 03-23-2011, 06:37 AM
Dennis Marks
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by sxynerd
What ratio rockers? Looks good though.
Ratio should be 1.6, if my research is correct, but like I said, I am learning. I couldn't just by a kit because the Edlebrock is not a roller cam and TFS is for an injected engine so I am trying to go out on my own. That's why I am asking.
Old 03-23-2011, 06:46 AM
Dennis Marks
2nd Gear Member