Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Carpet & Upholstery Pricing

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2012, 10:21 PM
MontanaMustangGuy

Default Carpet & Upholstery Pricing

What is a fair price to pay for someone to take care of carpet and upholstery installation in my 66 Mustang Coupe? I have already bought a "mass back" carpet kit molded to fit and I have new upholstery seat covers for 2 buckets and a bench along with seat foam. I just need a guy to install all of it so it's done properly. So it would consist of removing the old carpet, installing the new carpet, removing the seats and doing the reupholstery work. One quote I got from a guy who looked my car over is around $900. He charges $45/hour so if you calculate that out, that's 20 hours of labor. Is this legitimate? I thought that was pretty high but I have never done this before. Can you pros give me some ideas....just wanna make sure I'm not getting screwed. Thanks so much!
Old 09-12-2012, 11:47 PM
Iskwezm
4th Gear Member

Do the carpet yourself, its very easy. As for the seats, your quote is rediculously high. I just got a quote for 2 Flow Fit seats, where his is MAKING new covers for 140 each.

I sould look somewhere esle. I installed my own seat covers on my stock seats years ago.Probably took about 3 hours per seat and that wasnt knowing what i was doing.

or find another shop.
Old 09-13-2012, 06:23 AM
BuckeyeDemon
2nd Gear Member

i just paid $500 to have an upholstery shop remove the original upholstery from one seat, paint one frame (i had removed everything from the passenger side seat and painted that frame), then install the new covers and foam I had provided. I installed the trim, seat backs, seat tracks, etc. He claimed he had 15 hours of labor for the two front high back buckets.
Old 09-13-2012, 09:14 AM
Hwyman