Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Hydraulic Clutch Conversion Options

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2017, 10:13 PM
Starfury
6th Gear Member

Default Hydraulic Clutch Conversion Options

Now that I have a degree and a real job, and a house with side yard storage for the car, I'm going to start actually working on getting things done that have been on the back-burner for the past...well, a long time.

The car:
'67 fb, 331, factory bellhousing, close-ratio toploader, manual disc brakes

I could use opinions on the various hydraulic clutch conversion options on the market. I actually want to throw in a set of FPA headers, but I'm getting the idea that doing so with the factory z-bar setup is going to be a small nightmare, hence the hydraulic clutch investigation.

I've figured out that there isn't a good external slave option out there that's guaranteed to work well, so I'm looking at hydraulic TO bearing setups. As far as I can tell, that leaves me with American Powertrain, Modern Driveline, or a McLeod hydraulic slave and an alternative m/c (McLeod has a m/c kit, but it's only listed to work on 65-66 Mustangs).

Thoughts? Opinions?

Last edited by Starfury; 01-06-2017 at 01:18 PM.
Old 01-04-2017, 10:47 PM
Gun Jam

How much different is this than the t5?

I've been running the CNC external slave and the master bolted to the firewall as you might expect. I got a bracket from Daze (not sure where the hell hes been) its been cherry for the last like 8 or 9 years or whatever daily driven...Getting the clutch preload is important for proper disengagement on the t5 setup.
Old 01-04-2017, 11:51 PM
Starfury
6th Gear Member

Quite a bit, unfortunately.

The factory bell housing doesn't have provisions for an external slave, and the clutch fork pivots from the driver's side, necessitating a puller slave if one were to fab a mount of some sort.
Old 01-05-2017, 08:40 AM
69mach1377
5th Gear Member