General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.

learning to work on cars

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2006, 08:40 PM
R1PPED
2nd Gear Member

Default learning to work on cars

Hey guys,

I was wondering how all of you learned to work on your cars. I want to learn how work on my car, but i don't want mess up my car. are there sites that i can read into or should i see if there are classes being offered around my area?

should i get a beater to practice on?

thanks guys for your answers...

Chris
Old 05-02-2006, 08:42 PM
karmstrong_2
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: learning to work on cars

I watched people who knew much more than I do and saw what they did, and I just do all my stuff myself...that's the best way to do it.
Old 05-02-2006, 09:01 PM
PRO50SC
The Rogue Mod

When I was a teen I took auto shop in school. I also worked at a gas station as well. Alot was also self taught.
Old 05-02-2006, 09:13 PM
redass02gt
EXTREME Moderation

a hayne's manual will help if you already know a little aboot cars. I dunno if it will help a total n00b to cars.

if there is any kind of vocational school that is affiliated with the public schools in the area, they will have a class.
Old 05-02-2006, 09:31 PM
alexr
★★★★★

go to a junkyard and pick up an engine for like 50-$100 (depending on what you want) and just rip it apart and try putting it back together... again, a haynes manual would be very helpful with that.

you may not get all of the theoretical aspects of the engine, but you will get practice with replacing parts, so you know how to change something if need be.
Old 05-02-2006, 10:31 PM
R1PPED
2nd Gear Member

thanks alot, i think i will get the haynes manual an maybe i'll buy a engine and see if i can keep it at my grandma's house. she doesnt use her driveway.

I know a little about cars from my friends working on em, but i've never really looked at an 8 cyclinder engine

Thanks guys!!

Chris