General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

,QFT - Q - 650 Carb Question

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2006, 02:22 PM
Kozor8

Default ,QFT - Q - 650 Carb Question

Hi all

I'm new at this, so I may ask some silly questions. I'm trying to find a site on the net that will teach you how to tune a carb. Either, I'm not looking in the right spots or I don't know what to ask the search engine, because I can't seem to find one.

My situation is this.... I recently purchased a 66 Mustang Coup for my son (Ok, it was for me, knowing that as soon as he goes to college next year I'll swap him my car for the Mustang)

The car was a 289 but it is now a 347 stroker with a 92 5.0 block. It has a 351 Ford Energizer Cam thats 570 lift, 240 duration and 112 lobe. It has Edelbrock RPM performer aluminum heads, Edelbrock Performer RPM AIR Gap Intake, Mallory Distributor, Hooker Super Competition Headers, all the good internal parts (honestly I can't recall the names but I know they were some of the best quality pistons, lifters, rollers, crank, etc we could find) we upgraded all the support pieces like pumps, radiator, balancer, transmission cooler, MSD ignition etc. we dropped 3.89 gears in the 9" rear.

Even before alot of the adds I had problems with the engine stalling when I gave it gas. The guys at the shop said it was because I had a older 650 double pumper on it and that it would be a good idea to upgrade the carb to one that could be adjusted better. They recommended a QFT 650.