General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Non-Supercharged to fully blown....Is it worth it???

Search this Thread

Old 03-29-2008, 08:52 AM
2000ROUSHstang

Default Non-Supercharged to fully blown....Is it worth it???

Whats up everybody, i'm new to mustang forums and figured I would start my first thread with something that has been lingering around my mind for a while. I own a 2000 GT and was wondering if it would be worth it to make the car supercharged. What would the parts list be like. I can get my hands on an Eaton with 15,000 miles on it that has no problems what so ever for dirt cheap. Always wanted to go blown so let me know if it is more hassle then its worth!
Old 03-29-2008, 09:03 AM
Trmachuno
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Non-Supercharged to fully blown....Is it worth it???

Does it have an intercooler? If no intercooler I wouldn'trun more than 8/9psi of boost with it. Intercooled safe limits on stock internals is around 10/11psiof boost. Some people have pushed the envelope on these numbers, but I think they are on borrowed time.

Yes, supercharging any car is definitly worth it. But I am wondering are you supercharging your car and visiting the track at all or just for more street fun? Whipple andRoots superchargers like the eaton are great for the street, but traction becomes very hard to get if you run a bit of boost. If you were doing this for a track car and track timesI would suggest a centrifugal blower instead like procharger, vortech, or paxton.

Pretty much all youwill needismoney for install and money for a dynotune, which wil run no more than $1,600 even if your system has an intercooler. To be on the safe side for daily driving and the track, a lot of people get a/f andboost gauges put in their car. Good gauges installed cost no more thana total of $500-$600 w/a gaugepod.
Old 03-29-2008, 09:19 AM
2000ROUSHstang