General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Wheel bearing going bad

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2005, 02:23 PM
Lex8109
1st Gear Member

Default Wheel bearing going bad

Took beastie to the mechanic a few weeks ago for a full checkup. He told me that the front right wheel bearing is deteriorating.

I am pretty new to repairing cars but I'm good with my hands. Is this a repair job that I should do myself or take it to the mechanic?
Old 09-20-2005, 04:14 PM
razarr69
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Wheel bearing going bad

On a fox body Its pretty easy, I did mine when i put in my new ball joints, Im not to sure on a 99 GT tho.
Old 09-20-2005, 10:56 PM
Lex8109
1st Gear Member

Hmm i guess ill give it a shot.
Old 09-20-2005, 11:53 PM
99saleen351r
4th Gear Member

There all the same man if you have tools and a little know how you should be all set.Most important part is getting the bearing the right tightness usually you tighten it till its snug and back it off a 1/4 turn but you might want to check on the exact torque setting
Old 09-22-2005, 02:22 AM
razarr69
2nd Gear Member