Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Exhuast

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2006, 02:40 PM
8CYLPOWER
1st Gear Member

Default Exhuast

Hey everyone I am new to the mustang fourms this is only my second post...I just picked up my 2006 Mineral gray mustang GT...I have been reading around about this different exhaust systems and I just dont know which to go with..I see a lot of you have borla...I am looking for a loud but not too loud of an exhaust...I dont want any drone....If any one has suggestions i would appreciate it thanks
Old 05-01-2006, 03:04 PM
Tik_Tok
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Exhuast

Borla's sound the most like american muscle at it's finest, I wouldn't call it too loud at all. Stay away from SLP loudmouths if you feel like that. I'd get some myself, but think it'd be too loud with the rest of my exhaust mods.
Old 05-01-2006, 05:13 PM
90lxstang
4th Gear Member

I dont want to "steal" the post but I just want to varify something. When talking about exhaust, "axle-back" is refering to after the pipes right? As in after H pipes itself? So a full exhaust setup would include a new set of pipes (X or H) then your axle-back system that includes the cats and mufflers? Sometimes I get confused on which part of the system people are talking about.
Old 05-03-2006, 09:17 PM
callahan
3rd Gear Member

Axle-back is exactly that. The mufflers are located behind the rear axle. An axle-back system is literally nothing more than a muffler swap.
Old 05-03-2006, 09:21 PM
linernotejunky
2nd Gear Member

its all about borla. i have the axle back system and love it.
Old 05-03-2006, 10:52 PM
01RobGT
1st Gear Member