Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Hurst short throw

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2008, 09:18 PM
TWOKOOL
2nd Gear Member

Default Hurst short throw

Hey everyone, Newbie here. I have a question for Ya'll. I just finished installing a Hurst short throw in my 07' GT/CS .Went pretty well, about 2 hours open box to clean up. It seems to be "tight" going into all gears, not binding or anything, just seems a little tight. Is this the way it should be, will it smooth up after a little while? Guess I may just be used to the OE. Love the throw on it though. Anyway, thaks for any info.
Old 07-11-2008, 09:24 PM
Blue Meanie
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Hurst short throw

Mine was pretty tight when first installed. Seems to have loosened up some now, 2 months/5,000 miles later.
Old 07-11-2008, 09:35 PM
TWOKOOL
2nd Gear Member

Kool, had me kinda worried. Nothing I can't work with though. Thanks
Old 07-12-2008, 07:24 AM
Eric3d

The Hurst will be "crunchy" and will require quite a bit more force due to the fact you are doing the same amount of work in a lot less throw. The crunchy feeling of the shifter is just the feel of the trans as it passes though neutral. There are TON's of posts on this subject. After reading hundreds of them the final conclusion seems to be that the Hurst is not smooth at all but it is a solid short throw shifter. Many seem to think the feel is more muscle car. Either way, it is what it is.

Either way I swapped out my Competition plus for a Billet version. For some reason the Billet one seems to feel better but it is by no means smooth. I think the Billet frame flexes less and allows the shifter to work a bit better. Since the shifter is not a top loader any twisting will bind things up a bit.