Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Drone

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2013, 11:45 AM
Mathusula2

Question Drone

So I have a 2010 GT with Flowmasters... love the sound but HATE the drone at 1700-2000 RPM.

I was thinking... what if I installed resonators further up the exhaust - staggered as to alter the sound waves enough; would it eliminate the drone? What about the possibility of installing a resonator on 1 side of the exhaust, only? What are the opinions out there? What are the chances that theres a sound engineer out there in Mustang Forums land?

Thanks in advance for your input.

-- Mike
Old 02-15-2013, 02:12 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

More FRPP Borla Stingers drone in the same RPM range. I shift out of it or DRIVE out of it ("Sorry officer, but I was speeding because my exhaust drones at the PSL..."). I live it and my wife actually likes it.

I've heard that offsetting the mufflers helps but I'm not sure how that works with axlebacks. Have you checked with a local speed shop?
Old 02-15-2013, 03:49 PM
mapitts
3rd Gear Member

What Flowmaster's do you have. I had an '09 w/ Pype's Violators. No drone what so ever. Chambered / baffled mufflers will give you the dreaded drone you are talking about. The Pype's where a louvered tube like the OEM only with a larger tube, and larger louvers. They were reasonalbly priced and gave a much better sound than the OEM. Not sure what to call the type of muffler them OEM unit is called. Nuke?
Old 02-15-2013, 04:22 PM
hootie_john
2nd Gear Member

I think doing a mid-mounted offset muffler like the Borlas will get rid of the drone (using this in conjunction with the Flows). Pretty sure you can also just do the mid-mount setup without axle-backs (just tips), but not sure about how loud that would be. There's some stuff on YouTube.
Old 02-15-2013, 04:28 PM
MrSandman
5th Gear Member