New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

intro

Old 07-04-2015, 07:47 PM
squishbang
2nd Gear Member

Default intro

so yeah...I'm usually very careful with my planning. Especially with a big purchase.

My background is driving AWD turbo charged cars either in SCCA autocross or on the track. I mostly 'race' motorcycles (Kawi zx6 and Ducati 848). I'm not big on drag racing - it's a battle of the checkbook, NASCAR makes me vomit (MotoGP ran in a hurricane and NASCAR cancelled what does that say?). My next car was going to be a Nissan GTR (should have kept the Skyline name)

Anyway, my daughter has turned 16 and is about to get her license. She wants a mustang. I'm not wild about the idea but I do some research and the difference in insurance between her driving a Ford Focus and a Mustang is $20/mo so.....she only gets 1 shot. If she wrecks it then whatever the settlement is will be all she has to buy the next car.

Anyway - I found a 2013 V6 Mustang Premium (or whatever the model is) at just a little more than I had budgeted. What the heck - I called the dealership to make sure they had it. They did so we head over to check it out. Which is where all the trouble started.

We arrived and parked and in front of us is a beautiful orange 2015 Mustang GT. I pretty much lose my mind, it really looks good. So I take my time checking it out...it's already sold and has temporary tags on it. Oh, well, but what a beautiful car. Ford should be really proud.

We then walk in to the show room and it's game over. I'm already in a weakened state from the previous car. Sitting in their show room is a yellow mustang GT with black racing stripes.

I was sold pretty much at first sight. My wife and daughter were of no help. Neither would say no. My only hope was that the banks would be smart enough to point and laugh. No such luck.

While I was busy lusting over the 2015 Mustang, we also purchased my daughter's 2013 Mustang: