Other Professional Racing NASCAR, Formula 1, Sprint, Rally & Off Road, SCCA Auto X, Le Mans, Pro Stock, Cart, Drag, IROC, etc.

Auto X

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2009, 02:50 PM
crash
BrandofPoop

Default Auto X

Hey, So I'm going to my first auto x meet this Oct. I'm a newbie so any advice?
Old 09-27-2009, 11:13 AM
jayel579
2nd Gear Member

Bring water, sunscreen, hat and sunglasses. Get there early, keep an open mind and ask for help from the instructors. You will be lost and slow out there but don't get discouraged. We were all there the first few times also.
Old 09-28-2009, 11:00 AM
JD1969
Pro. B.S. caller outer

Just go and have fun. Don't worry about trying to be fast. Ask lots questions (but not when a driver is buckled in the car and sitting in the grid).
Old 09-28-2009, 01:54 PM
dagamore
2nd Gear Member

if its an overnight thing bring a tent, sleeping bag, grill, food and beer, plus the day stuff.
if its only a day thing, bring loots of water, 1.5gallons per person and enough to fill your car if you blow a hose, spare hoses and a spare belt, also if you run differnt tires then on the street bring them and a good jack.

prepair to be slow, and learn a lot about how your car handles, and have fun and be safe. just my 2 cents.
Old 09-30-2009, 10:44 AM
Norm Peterson
6th Gear Member

Get there EARLY, so that you don't feel rushed when you find out that you have to (1) register or at least sign in if you pre-registered, (2) empty the car of anything that's loose (including floor mats, which will likely draw commentary relative to current news), (3) get your car numbered, classified, and through tech inspection, and (4) attend the drivers' meeting.