Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

performance alignment specs...

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2007, 12:16 AM
steelcomp
2nd Gear Member

Default performance alignment specs...

I'd like to hear what different alignment specs guys (and gals) are running on their cars w/ suspension mods, and why.
Thanks.
Old 03-30-2007, 01:30 PM
Red06
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: performance alignment specs...

I'm interested too. I'm in the process of installing my mods and will be heading to the alignment shop afterwards
Old 03-31-2007, 01:45 PM
carockwell
1st Gear Member

The only alignment specs that you can control are toe in and camber. Toe in is more a matter of taste than performance. Ford specifies toe out for the mustang, which surprised me. This is the only rear drive car I know where the manufacturer specifies toe out, but I am no alignment expert. Anyway, the more toe out you dial in, the sharper your turn in response will be, at some point the car gets too "darty", I won't use the term "unstable". You can set your toe in for "zero" which is what I would use. If you adjust your car for toe in, maybe 1/16 inch, your car car will track straighter on highly crowned roads. If you live in Iowa or Pennsylvaniathatcan bea serious consideration.

You can set your front camber to be more negative, this will help prevent understeer in hard cornering, but the effect is very small. You have to use camber adjustment bolts or plates. For a street car I highly recommend 0.5 degrees negative camber, this allows the tires to "bite" immediately on turn in, and is about the maximum you can get and still expect even tire wear. If you use more negative camber you must be seriously looking to shave another .10 second off your lap times.