Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Cost of a new transmission?

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2017, 02:34 PM
CharminBear

Default Cost of a new transmission?

So I took my 69 mustang in because it had a leak. Auto shop called yesterday and I believe they said that there were a couple leaks because of worn seals on the transmission. Leaks weren't a big issues right now or demanded attention, so I could wait. To reseal them it would cost $2,000 all together. I asked how much to rebuild it, they said $2600. I am not a mechanic by any means and always assumed I could get a new transmission for $2000, then add labor, so to only rebuild it and labor costing $2600 that seems a bit high, but what do I know so I figured I'd ask some more knowledgeable people like you all.

This is an unexpected expense which I can barely afford once I get paid next week, but it almost couldn't have come at a worse time. So, I'm wondering is $2600 a fair price to build it, should I just get a new one and have that installed and if so what would that run me? What's a fair price for labor if I buy a new transmission myself and have this other legit guy I know install it? Just want to figure out my best options since I love this car, and unfortunately it is my daily driver and will be for at least another year or two as I can't afford a car payment at the moment. Thanks for any help and advice.
Old 05-25-2017, 03:24 PM
Starfury
6th Gear Member

I'm assuming this is a C4/C6 and not a toploader.

What seals are leaking? There's really not all that much to replacing seals on these transmissions, so I'm not sure where $2000 is coming from. There's a tailshaft seal, torque converter seal, shift shaft seal, and pan gasket. Parts, even from a shop, should be well under $100, including a filter kit.