SVT Forums

Help: cobra or wha?

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2007, 08:52 PM
99toplessbra

Default Help: cobra or wha?

Figured this belongs here, in the SVT forum as well.

Hello, this is my first time posting on the site, but i have been checking it out recently.

Im currently looking into the purchase of a 99 cobra convertible (72,000 miles) with a procharger and intercooler. The seller is the second owner of the car, and does not know when these items were installed, as she only drove the car for 9000 miles. She told me it was in good condition (besides tires, brakes, and alignment). I had him take it to ford for a diagnostic, and they said it need tires, brakes, and a new boost tube? (250$) I spoke with the technician and he drove it and said it drives and sounds great no rattles blah blah. Gears are fine, tranny seemed alright, but he didnt take anything apart. She doesnt know of any other mods, and I havent seen the car in person, but it is possible. It is in very nice condition inside and out for an older car, I am just concerned with buying such a high milage car with the supercharger. Should I trust ford? what else can I do?

Here are the notable concerns:

1)Possible Remaining (engine/tranny/car) life

2)The back bumper says mustang not cobra (maybe an accident: bumper replacement?)

3) Also: the story is the foglamps arent there anymore because the intercooler was put in and they wouldnt work or fit or something (the holes where they were are there).

4) The technician told me the check engine light was on, but they didnt diagnose it today. He said it might be the messed up boost tube (creating less boost then possible) Or, the technician said it might just need to be dynoed and fine tuned somewhere?

I am not concerned with the tires and the brakes, I will deal with that.
I plan on buying the car within two weeks

Answers Much Appreciated!
Old 12-11-2007, 09:22 PM
slick88
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Help: cobra or wha?