SVT Forums

Cobra and nitrous

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2010, 08:43 PM
redneck racer
2nd Gear Member

Default Cobra and nitrous

Ive heard mixed opinions with this. I want to run a 100 shot, ive heard from a few that its a disaster waiting to happen, then from others i hear the car can take it just fine. Im running a pretty much bone stock 03 motor, no pulley, only real addition is CAI. Would i be fine to run a 100 shot? i know these motors can handle some serious power, but the conflicting opinions are worrying me. Ive been looking around and im a total nitrous noob, they all look kinda the same. I know dry and wet, then plate kits... but i dont know whats best for my car. What should i be looking for if i do go the nitrous route. Also will i need a tune? or is it fine to run without.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by redneck racer; 08-22-2010 at 09:00 PM.
Old 08-22-2010, 11:11 PM
Scoutn757
1st Gear Member

Honestly, with what you have there are MANY options over using nitrous. I would personally recommend a good tune with a pulley and go from there
Old 08-23-2010, 11:17 AM
Timspony
SVT Section Moderator

+ 1...I'd go with the Pulley, CAI & tune before using the juice!
Old 08-23-2010, 02:25 PM
redneck racer
2nd Gear Member

well one reason i havent went that route is, i still have a pretty good warranty covering alot of things. From what i understand all ide have to do is remove the nitrous before taking it in for warranty work and i should be ok, where with the pulley, doesnt it set off some sort of code if it makes over 10lbs of boost? not sure where i heard this but it makes sense.
Old 08-23-2010, 08:53 PM
Scoutn757
1st Gear Member

If it has a PROPER tune by a reputable tuner there is no light. If you put the pulley over back on that I would think you are fine
Old 08-24-2010, 05:22 PM
mfj
Banned