SVT Forums

99 vs 2001 Cobra

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2011, 12:08 PM
TripHeath

Default 99 vs 2001 Cobra

I have had a bunch of Mustangs through my life(my first car and my last car), so I am not a total noob, and I am getting ready to decide on my next fun weekend car....Vert Cobra!
I am not going racing, but love a strong ride(so I am not holding out for a terminator)but after doing some research online, I thought I would come get some feedback of pros and cons of these 2 models(I have found a couple of low miles/good deals, 2001 w/ 39k for $14.5k, and a 99 w/ 70k for 12.9k)......def gonna have a good mech check it before buying, but wanted to make sure I had as much info as possible...I know therer was a HP issue on the 99s that was fixed for the 2001 model(new comp chip, exhaust mods?)...but did they recall the 99s and fix those too, and how can I tell for sure if it was done.....can I look that up in a ford database somewhere.......plus there was a block change in these years and have heard rumors the TESKID was better than the WAP...I know most of the visual differences between the model ......but I am looking for real world feedback from guys who love their Cobras......I know I prob cant go wrong with either as long as it has no issues......thanks.......Trip
Old 10-05-2011, 12:13 PM
Repzard
4th Gear Member

Its TEKSID

Yes it is a stronger block over the WAP block do to vein design.
Rumor has it ...It could handle 1000+ HP

As for the Cobras go.Theyre both nice and not too much differants.
Old 10-06-2011, 01:31 PM
TripHeath

the 99 had nothing in its carfax about the "fix" but had tons of oil changes etc... from the dealer.......how can I find out for sure if it has been fixed, seems to run great..........very nice interior, but has alot of ext dings and such.....