Tuner Central Have a question about which hand tuner is best for your Mustang? Talk about it here!

Hi, I'm a Mac...

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2010, 08:57 PM
CSS996
2nd Gear Member

Default Hi, I'm a Mac...

Do any tuners work with Mac computers?

I'm a video producer/editor and cannot stand PC based compys.

Any options for me?

Thanks.
Old 02-15-2010, 04:54 PM
CSS996
2nd Gear Member

The deafening sound of crickets filled his ears...

The room grew darker...
Old 02-15-2010, 09:36 PM
Shotgun Love
3rd Gear Member

i'd like to know of some too- i'll never go back to a pc
Old 02-16-2010, 08:26 AM
CSS996
2nd Gear Member

Well here's what I'm starting to think.

I'm looking at an SCT 3 tuner. (I think that's the name)

Looks like you get tunes either directly from the pre-loaded tunes in the device, or custom tunes are sent via email. For those you need a special cable (of course).

I'd bet the cable is a USB to propriatery SCT connector.

Since email is email, and USB is USB, I'm guessing the type of computer you run is a non-issue. Now, I don't know if folks can download software to create their own tunes, but I wouldn't doubt that if that's even possible, you would have to be running a PC.

That's total speculation on my part though. If anyone can confirm or correct, please chime in!

Thanks!
Old 02-17-2010, 11:43 AM
Mustangmaster
3rd Gear Member

I don't think so. I am a Mac user also. If you have an Intel processor Mac you can install Windows on it. Which is good for things like this. That's all I use Windows for on my Macs. Things that don't work on the Mac side. Other than that, I stay away from Windows. It's a horrible experience compared to Macs.
Old 02-17-2010, 12:16 PM
CSS996
2nd Gear Member

I have an email in to SCT to see what they have to say, but if you're already running it on a Mac thru windoze, then that's probably the answer.

Although I think I might rather go buy a POS PC laptop than take up space on my MBP HD with Microsoft software.