Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Going to the Track ...need direction....

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2006, 11:47 PM
tino
I ♥ Acer

Default Going to the Track ...need direction....

Hello All!!!!

I am thinking of going to the track next week to see what my pony can do.... This Maryland Track I am new at this and need some direction.

a) My ride is not S/C or Turbo..... Do they put you against a class of similar power?

b) What equipment will I need? .....Safety for Driver ....Car Equipment......

c) I don't expect to win any heat, but I want to experience the ride....Any tips?

Thanks....
Old 06-22-2006, 11:55 PM
rygenstormlocke
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Going to the Track ...need direction....

Man, I need to hit capitol!!! Too many members here go to that track. Ok, my answers below.

ORIGINAL: tino

Hello All!!!!

I am thinking of going to the track next week to see what my pony can do.... This Maryland Track I am new at this and need some direction.

a) My ride is not S/C or Turbo..... Do they put you against a class of similar power?
No, if it is test and tune you just run with everyone else.

Depends on the track, but I would invest in a snell2000 helmet. Most tracks don't require helmets for cars slower than 12's. Call the track and find out the what thier rules are, but I would get a helmet. Scrming and I got the Gforce open face helmets, easier to wear when its hot out.

c) I don't expect to win any heat, but I want to experience the ride....Any tips?
-turn od off
-what tires are you running? pneros, put the rears at 30psi

Here is a link to some good write ups:

http://american-speed.com/collective...splay.php?f=10

At the top is some sticky's that I found helpful when I was a newb and technially, I still am LOL.
Old 06-22-2006, 11:58 PM
hamidlmt
I ♥ Acer

Here's everything you need to know your first time out...