Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Chassis winds up like a toy!!

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2007, 02:35 PM
retrosix

Default Chassis winds up like a toy!!

I'm sure that I'm not the first one to talk about this problem on these boards, but it's been a while since I've been active here. So, I'm sure a lot of you have noticed that the trade off for having a torque-handling live axle is that any turn over 35-40 builds up an insane amount of flex in the chassis that is really unpleasant when it unwinds. My question is: what is the cheapest/most cost effective way to increase roll stiffness? I'm not a newbie so i'm pretty familiar with the usual options like braces, sway bars, etc. My other question is what results have you guys had with your cars and what setups are reliable?

thanks
-retro
Old 02-16-2007, 02:38 PM
fitbikeco
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Chassis winds up like a toy!!

hmmmm
well i have herd great things about the gt takeoff sway bars
i think i have seen both of them in decent condition in a package for like 90 or 100 which does not sound bad
i would get them but they are just extra weight for drag racing
im sure you will get more info from others
Old 02-16-2007, 02:40 PM
SPARTAN VI
4th Gear Member

Of thehandful of modifications I've done, the best and most noticable mod would be upgrading my wheels and installing GT take off sway bars. It's like night and day.
With the stock set up, my wheels would buck if I'm taking a turn at like 25MPH. I was also very afraid of driving in the rain because I could constantly feel my rear end slipping out.

The sway bars were $85 from Diversified and fairly simple to install. My Nitto NT555s were $125 each and my rims $100 each.
Old 02-16-2007, 03:08 PM
Kriger
2nd Gear Member