Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

i need some knowledge on dual exhaust!

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2007, 02:23 PM
Dirty Jersey Mustang

Default i need some knowledge on dual exhaust!

I have very little knowledge aboutthe way some things workbut recently found myself wanting to know more. Especially since I want duals on my mustang. I understand the different types, like axle-back, and cat back. But what is true duals exactly, What's the difference in the pipe setup, such as y and x. I know what they are but what difference do they make in performance and sound. So if ya could, tell me which brands make good kits, and what each kind of set up will do. thanks
Old 09-26-2007, 02:34 PM
07lane40
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: i need some knowledge on dual exhaust!

true duals have two sets of pipes with a crossover. a dual evhaust with a y pipe has the stock y pipe and it narrows down to the stock tubing and then goes out to two exits using another y pipe. if you plan on alot of modding, you will see better performance with the true duals, the 2 y's will basically act as a high flo muffler. and the difference between the two types of true duals is the shape of the crossover, which basically just gives a different sound. there has not been any real hard evidence to support that a X flows better than an H, they pretty much just sound different. size of tubing affects sound and performance just as much also. but dont go too big cause then your stang will fall flat on its face. 2.5" tubing is plenty big and will sound great. Pypes makes a good kit, thats what i have, and i love it. JBA also makes good stuff. i've heard though, to stay away from the FLowmaster American Thunder axlebacks, because apparently they crap-out around 5k miles.