Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

5 speed automatic. how to?

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2007, 12:02 AM
farzero

Default 5 speed automatic. how to?

ok guys this might be total noob question... I have an automatic v6 2007 and I know theres like park, reverse, neutral, drive, 1, 2, 3, over drive on/off ok so whats the deal with that? should I not use the 1,2,3 gears and stick to just Drive? is it a 5 speed automatic? how do I use it? like 1st gear its like from 0 mph - 25mph ish then second gear like 25-40 ish then 3rd is like 40- 55 ish not really sure exact numbers, but the question is like how do I harness the power of my stock automatic transmission to its max? I dont have a tuner, yet...
Old 11-26-2007, 12:08 AM
socool9004
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: 5 speed automatic. how to?

leave it in drive, youll destory your tranny, ford makes a pretty crappy automatic, if you want harder shifts, or different shift points you will need a tuner.
Old 11-26-2007, 12:55 AM
VictoriaRR
4th Gear Member

I basically leave mine in drive. I don't have a tune or a tuner yet, but I intend on getting one at some point. You kinda learn to manipulate the gas pedal and the RPMs with your foot to achieve different effects for maximinzing the potential of your transmission and the power of your engine. At least I do. I've kinda gotten to the point where I can get it to shift where and when I want it to, and now I can usually get it into the gear I want it in, but I've been driving my car virtually every day a good twenty miles a day for two years. So I know the car really well. It's pretty much just second instinct now.
Old 11-26-2007, 09:33 AM
MrSandman
5th Gear Member

Just put it in drive. If it's snowing, it's sometimes helpful to leave it in 3.