Wheels & Tires Discuss rims and tires here.

Tire size help please/ staggered setup help

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2009, 12:06 PM
green2000gt
2nd Gear Member

Default Tire size help please/ staggered setup help

http://www.oewheelsllc.com/Mustang-W...-p5939494.html

I want to get these wheels for my 2000 GT cause I love the staggered look but I am no sure what tire offset to get. I know tons of people run 315's in the rear but I am not sure if they will fit without rubbing, I have a flowmaster catback and my 245's already looks close. My mustang is my every day driver so I am not sure if 315's would be practical for an every day driver. I al am worried about not being able to rotate so I have been thinking about going with these, with 17x9's in the front and back is there anyway I could get the staggered look? If I got the 17x9's then I can alway go back to having the same tire size.

http://www.oewheelsllc.com/Mustang-W...-p6668288.html
Old 09-15-2009, 06:28 PM
Jazzer The Cat
Retired Moderator

Those sizes will be just fine on your ride and don't see an issue with exhaust. May have a touch of rubbing, but I wouldn't think so. See the rear wheels are much wider than your current, but the wheels additional width will be moved outward, so clearance will be about the same. To confirm, remove your rear wheel and measure the back-space and see what you have. The size on your link was +27mm and is about 6.8" back-space and just fine for your year. You will likely need to remove the quad-shock (maybe just get away with rotating 180*) for clearance, but not an issue.

I recommend a 265/40/17" up front (max is 275) and 305/315/35/17" out back. As for rotation, I don't bother with it myself. I have run staggered for years and get pretty even wear anyway so not concerned.

Jazzer
Old 09-15-2009, 07:54 PM
green2000gt
2nd Gear Member