4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Higher Octane=Better Running??? Totally Confused-Halp!!

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2010, 12:22 PM
kylebgt
3rd Gear Member

Default Higher Octane=Better Running??? Totally Confused-Halp!!

My mustang has always had a bouncing idle, it runs really rough at times. This became more apparent after removing the cats, and replacing the exhaust. I figured the roughness was probably IAC related.

On a whim last week I filled it up with 91octane, something I have never done before. As the engine is not high compression, I don't really see the need. Surprisingly though, it is running a whole lot smoother now. I almost always fill it with 89, which is still better than the recommended 87. I go to diff gas stations, so I know its not because of poor fuel.

Should I continue to run 91 through it? I'm at sea level so hypothetically I can run 87. Why would my engine run better on 91? Thanks!
Old 03-07-2010, 01:09 PM
ct_white_stang
4th Gear Member

I wonder if you car has a custom tune? Are you the original owner?
Old 03-07-2010, 02:58 PM
kylebgt
3rd Gear Member

I'm the 2nd owner, however it was bone stock when I bought it. I did not gap the spark plugs when I put them in last year. I wonder if that could be causing some problems.
Old 03-07-2010, 04:27 PM
mrtstang
6th Gear Member

If your car has the stock tune, there's no benefit to running higher than 87 octane.
Old 03-08-2010, 02:08 AM
Nestang
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by kylebgt
I'm the 2nd owner, however it was bone stock when I bought it. I did not gap the spark plugs when I put them in last year. I wonder if that could be causing some problems.
Yeah If I was you I'd pull them back out and gap them.
Old 03-08-2010, 03:24 PM
K Z
2nd Gear Member

Originally Posted by kylebgt
If u put a platinum plug in then there is no need to gap, but if they r factory replacments u need 2 gap them.