Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

4.10's installed

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2009, 09:12 PM
07musclemustang
4th Gear Member

glad your all gung ho there bro but because im in the trades dont mean im under something.. I was a paramedic for 6 years and tought for almost 2 before taking on a carear change.
but glad to hear your confident of your capabilities and i hope if you do choose to tackle the gear install yourself, it works out for you. but if it blows up or whines you only got yourself to blame.
good luck again and take a chill pill.
Old 02-17-2009, 09:14 PM
07musclemustang
4th Gear Member

ok so were cool?
but im not gonna shoot you down for ambition,
just wanna make you aware of whats all there
Old 02-17-2009, 09:21 PM
JDWalton
5th Gear Member

yeah man, sorry I blew up, your just trying to be cautious and thats cool. This is one of the better install guides I had found on gears, but hell even in his guide I can tell hes doing something wrong.... it looks like hes tightening his bearing with a impact wrench. From what I read thats a great way to ruin your bearing. but who knows, its just a pic (figure 18)
http://www.superstallions.com/tech/d...ars/gears.html
Old 02-17-2009, 09:26 PM
07musclemustang
4th Gear Member

yeah impact is for taking stuff off not putting stuff on (especially sensitive things)
if you need speed use a air wrench... daddy always said right tool for the job.
Anyways let me know how it goes for you and if all is well i "might" reconsider
I mean if lab rat marine can figure it out....
Kidding. Take good care man and let me know how it goes and what you do
Old 02-17-2009, 09:37 PM
07musclemustang
4th Gear Member