5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

1989 mustang cylinder 4 misfire HELP

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2014, 03:19 PM
89turbofox

push rods and valves checked out good. Leak down test was performed on all cylinders. nothing leaked into the cylinder when pressure was applied. cylinder 3 had compression of 130 and all other cylinders were 150-165. Injectors were switched around and misfire still persisted in cylinder 4.

He verified the problem by the heat gun and showing that it is about 160 degrees when all other cylinders are double that.

Im new to this, so I'm just going off what he told me. Since he couldn't find the actual problem (besides knowing cylinder 4 is misfiring) he didn't charge me for all the work trying to find it (which i appreciate). I replaced my spark plugs, wires, and exhaust header gaskets. but problem still going on. I

i wouldn't know what a skip feels like but when i drive the car surges a lot and it wants to hesitate a lot while driving. It is not tuned or chipped.

shooting in the dark here? might take it to another mechanic and cross reference their observations.
Old 11-18-2014, 04:25 PM
mjr46
D.R. THE PATHETIC DORK

Originally Posted by 89turbofox
push rods and valves checked out good. Leak down test was performed on all cylinders. nothing leaked into the cylinder when pressure was applied. cylinder 3 had compression of 130 and all other cylinders were 150-165. Injectors were switched around and misfire still persisted in cylinder 4.

He verified the problem by the heat gun and showing that it is about 160 degrees when all other cylinders are double that.