Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

So... which way should I go with this engine build?

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2007, 04:53 PM
Curse The Sky
1st Gear Member

Default So... which way should I go with this engine build?

After some debating, I'm keeping the original 289 and building it up a bit. The goal isn't a 500+ HP monster, but I do want to have some fun. If I can push 300ish, I'd be more than happy. So far the only thing I've done to it is bolt on a set of Tri-Y's.

With that being said, it's time to start looking at parts. Everything is going to take a while to piece together, so I'm getting most of the top-end stuff first (carburetor is beyond help at this point, so I'm going to slap a new one on), and I'll work my way down. Being a college student, I can only grab stuff as money permits. I'm not really sure which way I'm going with it yet. It may be a 347 stroker, or I may go another route. I may just put on a couple of bolt-ons and leave it as is. AFR 165's are the next thing on my list, when I can afford it.

The only thing that's set in stone right now is the exhaust. I have a full 2 1/2" exhaust (some guy sold his '66 Shelby and had it left over, almost brand new - got an awesome deal on it), which is a bit much for the stock engine.

Either way, I'm looking at a Holley 600 CFM 4bbl, electric choke. What manifold(s) should I look into?I did a bit of looking around, but I'm really sure what would be best for my build (Victor Jr, Performer, Torker, Weiland Stealth, etc.).Are there any manifolds that will perform decently at higher RPMs, but still perform ok if Imake it a stroker? I'm still undecided.Finally, any cam suggestions?

Any other suggestions, or things that work / don't work? I'm not an expert by any means, just kind of living and learning as I go. I'd definately prefer to build something that I'll like the first time, and not get myself into a total mess.

Thank you.
Old 12-01-2007, 06:20 PM