Go Back   MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > Classic Mustangs (Tech)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Welcome to Mustang Forums!
Welcome to Mustang Forums.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Gauges not working?

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-28-2010, 01:16 AM   #1
Dro21
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Vehicle: 1969 Mustang
Location: California
Posts: 39
Default Gauges not working?

Well my gauges dont work(they go crazy) fuel gauge always show alittle over empty or 1/4 full, Temperature goes past the H, Fuel pressure goes high. My father said when he got the car around 6yrs they worked fine. What do you guys think it is?

-Regulator?
-Printed circuit?
-Gauge touching metal(if this was the case would the gauges even move?)
-Ground?(where do i look)
-Gauge?

Alright what do you guys think is the culprit? where to start?

thanks in advance
This ad is not displayed to registered or logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Mustang Forums!
Dro21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 06:15 AM   #2
2+2GT
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Vehicle: 66 Mustang 2+2GT
Location: PA
Posts: 5,222
Default

Start by checking the regulator. Your test probe should flash.
2+2GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2010, 08:41 PM   #3
Dro21
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Vehicle: 1969 Mustang
Location: California
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2+2GT View Post
Start by checking the regulator. Your test probe should flash.
Im sorry to sound dumb but the cluster has to be connected right to check the regulator right
Dro21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 06:44 AM   #4
Stangatic
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 1966 Ford Mustang
Location: Maryland
Posts: 517
Default

Sounds like the $30 P.O.S. regulator to me (I wish there was a better alternative). I am not an electrician, but I believe that you need to have the cluster connected. If you have a ohms meter use that to check the regulator. If my memory serves me correctly, the 12 volts coming from the battery should be reduced to 5 ohms after going through the regulator. Do a google search about the subject and you'll find some good articles.

http://www.allfordmustangs.com/forum...ck-gauges.html
__________________
1967 Convertible V8 - Frost turquoise

1966 289 Mustang coupe, Sahara Beige w/ black interior: Tuff Dawg Engines 302/ 375hp 393tq w/ Comp Cams ***** Thumpr 287TH7 Cam. Ported, Polished, 3 angle valve job, Performer RPM casting heads. 9.5 comp ratio. Edelbrock 650 AVS carb. Promotion Powertrain 295SHD T-5. Gt spec suspension. Pacer 15" wheels.

2000 Gt convert ***SOLD*** :*(
Stangatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 01:25 PM   #5
TexasAxMan
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Vehicle: 1966 Mustang Coupe
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 1,691
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stangatic View Post
Sounds like the $30 P.O.S. regulator to me (I wish there was a better alternative).
There is an alternative, build your own solid state one. Only costs about $5-$10 and will last the life of the car. There are plenty of how-tos on the net, just search.
__________________
1966 Mustang Coupe
302 w/ T-5
TexasAxMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 06:07 AM   #6
tx65coupe
5th Gear Member
 
tx65coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Vehicle: 1965 Ford Mustang
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,453
Default

I also recommend the electronic instrument cluster regulator. We made one. You can build your own or buy this one on Ebay.

http://chris66dad.tripod.com/id29.html

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Ford-...Q5fAccessories
__________________
1997 Cobra Convertible (stock)
1965 Mustang 302, T5, Versailles 9 Inch




Last edited by tx65coupe; 12-30-2010 at 06:11 AM.
tx65coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 06:17 AM   #7
Stangatic
3rd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Vehicle: 1966 Ford Mustang
Location: Maryland
Posts: 517
Default

Good one tx65coupe> I was actually looking at the father and son site that you recommended yesterday morning and saw their solid state cluster regulator. I am trying to decide if I should build it my self or buy the one off ebay.
__________________
1967 Convertible V8 - Frost turquoise

1966 289 Mustang coupe, Sahara Beige w/ black interior: Tuff Dawg Engines 302/ 375hp 393tq w/ Comp Cams ***** Thumpr 287TH7 Cam. Ported, Polished, 3 angle valve job, Performer RPM casting heads. 9.5 comp ratio. Edelbrock 650 AVS carb. Promotion Powertrain 295SHD T-5. Gt spec suspension. Pacer 15" wheels.

2000 Gt convert ***SOLD*** :*(
Stangatic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 10:32 AM   #8
Bitter
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Vehicle: 1968 Coupe, 2006 Pony Package
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 243
Default

I bought that one off ebay. It's made by Ivan, a member of this forum (ic237). PM him if you have any questions.

http://mustangforums.com/forum/class...-question.html
Bitter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 11:40 PM   #9
Dro21
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Vehicle: 1969 Mustang
Location: California
Posts: 39
Default

i already bought a voltage regulator from Napa, i should of ordered 1 of those of ebay...On the other hand when installing the new circuit and regulator do i have to disconnect the battery or do anything prior to connecting the Gauge cluster?
Dro21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 05:58 AM   #10
tx65coupe
5th Gear Member
 
tx65coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Vehicle: 1965 Ford Mustang
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,453
Default

I went through a few of those replacement stock type ones and none of them worked right. The original one works better than any of them did.
__________________
1997 Cobra Convertible (stock)
1965 Mustang 302, T5, Versailles 9 Inch



tx65coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 10:05 AM   #11
ic237
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Vehicle: 1966 ford mustang
Location: florida
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dro21 View Post
i already bought a voltage regulator from Napa, i should of ordered 1 of those of ebay...On the other hand when installing the new circuit and regulator do i have to disconnect the battery or do anything prior to connecting the Gauge cluster?
You dont have to remove the battery, BUT it would be a good idea. With the culuster out and wires exposed. Not that the reg would break, however a falling screwdriver can make a messy situation. Not that its happen to me .
ic237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 06:26 PM   #12
Dro21
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Vehicle: 1969 Mustang
Location: California
Posts: 39
Default

Update....I installed a new circuit,Cvr solid state and nothing gauges still dont work??what else is there to check?
Dro21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 06:31 PM   #13
ic237
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Vehicle: 1966 ford mustang
Location: florida
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dro21 View Post
Update....I installed a new circuit,Cvr solid state and nothing gauges still dont work??what else is there to check?
ok, what happened to me was my mechanical regulator let loose and fried all my senders.

I would double check the the 12v is coming into the regulator and 5v is coming out. All your senders need to register between 80-10 ohms. The new regulator does not work with a missing ground. If your ground is missing it turns off. So if your cluster is floating while you check thats your problem.
ic237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:48 PM   #14
tx65coupe
5th Gear Member
 
tx65coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Vehicle: 1965 Ford Mustang
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,453
Default

Is the regulator getting power? Maybe there is a bad or no ground.
__________________
1997 Cobra Convertible (stock)
1965 Mustang 302, T5, Versailles 9 Inch



tx65coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 11:51 PM   #15
Dro21
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Vehicle: 1969 Mustang
Location: California
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ic237 View Post
ok, what happened to me was my mechanical regulator let loose and fried all my senders.

I would double check the the 12v is coming into the regulator and 5v is coming out. All your senders need to register between 80-10 ohms. The new regulator does not work with a missing ground. If your ground is missing it turns off. So if your cluster is floating while you check thats your problem.
ill have to check if theres voltage...So if the cluster not screwed in place it wont work properly?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tx65coupe View Post
Is the regulator getting power? Maybe there is a bad or no ground.
Ill have to check the voltage....If the ground wire is the wire attched to the lower dash part on the left side, then its attached but if its not that one then were can i find/check if its good?

Last edited by Dro21; 01-12-2011 at 11:54 PM.
Dro21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 05:43 PM   #16
ic237
2nd Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Vehicle: 1966 ford mustang
Location: florida
Posts: 183
Default

[QUOTE=Dro21;7371787]ill have to check if theres voltage...So if the cluster not screwed in place it wont work properly?

I know my 66 has a ground wire that grounds the whole cluster. So it doesnt matter if its screwed down or not. That may or may not be your case. If you dont have that kind of wire , I would screw the cluster down just to be sure.
No ground, no Juice.
ic237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 12:51 AM   #17
tx65coupe
5th Gear Member
 
tx65coupe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Vehicle: 1965 Ford Mustang
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dro21 View Post
ill have to check if theres voltage...So if the cluster not screwed in place it wont work properly?




Ill have to check the voltage....If the ground wire is the wire attched to the lower dash part on the left side, then its attached but if its not that one then were can i find/check if its good?
The cluster will still work even if its not mounted in place.

You can check to see if the ground where the wire attatches to is good with a multimeter using the impedance or ohm setting.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZcD3sj8e5g
__________________
1997 Cobra Convertible (stock)
1965 Mustang 302, T5, Versailles 9 Inch




Last edited by tx65coupe; 01-17-2011 at 12:57 AM.
tx65coupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 12:51 AM
MustangForums
Ford Mustang




Paid Advertisement

 
 
 
Reply

Tags
05, 1966, 1973, 50, crazy, cvr, dash, dont, ford, gages, gauges, guages, mach, mustang, test, work, working

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
New Sponsors
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.

© Internet Brands, Inc.


This forum is owned and operated by Internet Brands, Inc., a Delaware corporation. It is not authorized or endorsed by the Ford Motor Company and is not affiliated with the Ford Motor Company or its related companies in any way. Ford® is a registered trademark of the Ford Motor Company
Emails Backup