Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Hey ! Newbie here with a spring question

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2011, 12:10 PM
nickdaytona

Default Hey ! Newbie here with a spring question

hey guys , Nick here . Bought a sweet '68 coupe this spring for my girl and replaced the rear springs as they were done.ordered a new set from the Mustang barn and put them in (with beers) on Friday with no issues . The car is now sittng better but it still looks like it's an inch lower than the front , which makes me think the P.O. put in big block front springs. What are my options? Air shocks? Gonna be putting 17's on soon so there's also an option to fix with the tires size as well ! Suggestions on rear height and also rim tire combos appreciated ! Thanks !

Nick
Old 10-02-2011, 12:28 PM
pjlietz

When you did the rear did you replace the shackles? If not the PO might have put the 1inch lowering ones in, i did that with my 66. I would think it would be easier to do the shackles then front springs. I had air shock in my car at one point however they developed a leak pretty quick so I tossed them.
Old 10-02-2011, 12:40 PM
Jonk67
3rd Gear Member

A pic would really help and more info. As asked above, does it have non stock shackles? What springs did you buy - standard, mideye, reverse eye?

I would not do airshocks for any reason, the floor pan is not strengthened to support the wt. of the car by the upper shock mount which is what the airshocks will do. Had a pair on my '70 20yrs. ago and they cracked the floor metal and almost punched through the floor, many other stories of this if you search.

Here's a pic of stock shackles which are 3 1/4" between bushing centers as an idea of spacing:

Jon
Old 10-02-2011, 02:25 PM
lefty3382
1st Gear Member

As above, what rear springs did you get? The type of eye can have a definite affect on ride height. As taken from the Mustang Depot website:

Standard Eye (generally stock ride height)