Notices
2005-2009 S197 Appearance Section For all appearance mods to the 2005-2009 S197's

Let's See Those Light Bars

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2006, 11:22 PM
Larmo
4th Gear Member

Default Let's See Those Light Bars

So I've seen many pictures of fellow S197 convertible owners who have installed light-bars on the verts... being a noob here I'm wondering if they have a practical purpose or are they just for aesthetics? At first I didn't like the look but I think now its growing on me. Do they wire into the third brake light and light up with the brake? (duhhhhh its called a light-bar)... and I presume the vert top just slip right over it when opening/closing. Their position seems to provide a blind spot, no?

Lastly, are there several "styles"? Please post pics of yours if you have it installed.

Thank you!!
Old 10-24-2006, 11:51 PM
Tres Wright
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Let's See Those Light Bars

==being a noob here I'm wondering if they have a practical purpose or are they just for aesthetics?==

They are for aesthetics, they don't offer any rollover protection.

==Do they wire into the third brake light and light up with the brake?==

Correct. You tap into the brake light wiring under the seat. A handy thing to add is the Webelectric switch, it shuts the lightbar brake light off if the top is in the "up" position. Otherwise that light lights up the whole back seat of the car at night.

==and I presume the vert top just slip right over it when opening/closing.==

Correct.

==Their position seems to provide a blind spot, no?==

It mostly blocks the right rear window if you're looking over your right shoulder, but I couldn't see much there anyway because the top blocks most of that area as it is. I didn't find any significant new vision blockage after installing the bar.

==Lastly, are there several "styles"?==