Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Is this a good strut tower bar?

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2006, 02:01 AM
LesteR723
5th Gear Member

Default Is this a good strut tower bar?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/05-06...QQcmdZViewItem

i'm new to the aftermarket suspension stuff... is that any good? i'm lookin to stiffen up the stang a bit. Its v6 and automatic, i have to find a way to have some fun [>:]
Old 06-20-2006, 04:00 AM
bl1nk
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Is this a good strut tower bar?

ORIGINAL: LesteR723

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/05-06...QQcmdZViewItem

i'm new to the aftermarket suspension stuff... is that any good? i'm lookin to stiffen up the stang a bit. Its v6 and automatic, i have to find a way to have some fun [>:]
all the tower braces I have seen have dual bars and some kind of support in the middle, I would hold out for a little longer and get one of a better quality.. theyre not that much more expensive
Old 06-20-2006, 04:25 AM
Remrats1234
3rd Gear Member

i agree with bli1nkage really good known brands will have the same thing at not much more money, and then u will have a for sure brand to back up their product
Old 06-20-2006, 10:48 AM
CrazyAl
5th Gear Member

The strongest strut tower bar, by far, is the BMR version. I think it's about $150, if my memory serves. If you want to buy a strut tower bar, that's the one to get in my opinion.

That being said, the general consensus seems to be that the improvements from the strut tower bar (any brand) are minimal, if there is any at all. The new mustang body is VERY stiff, and there simply isn't much, if any, of a need for the strut bar. If you want to spend money upgrading your suspension, much more effective mods are new rear lower control arms or an upgraded rear sway bar. These will make much more difference than the strut tower bar.
Old 06-20-2006, 11:37 AM
LesteR723
5th Gear Member