Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

18" rims ?

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2006, 09:42 PM
wishIhada5.0
2nd Gear Member

Default 18" rims ?

do 18's slow you down at all as far as acceleration goes? thanks!
Old 08-08-2006, 10:40 PM
cekim
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: 18" rims ?

ORIGINAL: wishIhada5.0
No - 18's come with lower profile so overall wheel size is similar if not identical (did not check) - additional weight, if any is negligable...
Old 08-09-2006, 01:05 AM
Ruffnuts
2nd Gear Member

Are you talking normal accleration or drag racing acceleration? If you are talking drag racing then you will want to use as small a rim height as you can, And a smaller rim will be lighter also. I am no scientist but let me try to explain it.. you whole car from engine pully to rear wheels is a spinning mass and you want to use as little effort as possible to get that mass spinning as fast as possible, things like smaller pullys, lighter flywheels and smaller diameter rims will help this mass get going faster and while it may not actually build you any horsepower it will allow what HP you have now to be utilised quicker. Think of it like this in the case of rims, which item can you spin easier and quicker, a 12 inch diameter frizbee or a 12 inch china dinner plate.
Old 08-09-2006, 11:44 AM
paco_pony
2nd Gear Member

prior quotes are right. larger wheels increase rotational mass which ultimately decreases what you can put to the ground.

rule of thumb that I've heard is every pound of extra drivetrain mass (including rims/tires) is effectively another 6-7 pounds of non-rotating mass.

so if 18" wheels are 5 pounds heavier per wheel then that's equivalent to 20X 6 or ~ 120 pounds.

but again, that's a rule of thumb and I'm not sure if it really meshes with real world experience
Old 08-09-2006, 11:49 AM
CainMotorsports2102
3rd Gear Member