Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What is the strongest glue I can use...

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2006, 12:09 AM
mAnYsTyLeS
4th Gear Member

Default What is the strongest glue I can use...

The corners on a piece of my aluminum trim kit will not stick down (with the 3M tape) to the little section where I turn my lights on. I'm thinking of just gluing the corners down to keep it in place permanently. Any recommendations on a good glue that will do the trick.......thanks!
Old 10-09-2006, 12:21 AM
cryptic26djp
4th Gear Member

Default RE: What is the strongest glue I can use...

I dont know if its recommended for this specific application - but Gorilla Glue is completely B@D@SS!!!! Rhino glue is pretty good too though
Old 10-09-2006, 12:40 AM
CrazyAl
5th Gear Member

I'm not a professional chemist, but from what I do know, different glues are good (or bad) depending very strongly on the materials to be glued.

For example, good 'ol yellow wood glue is one of the best glues you can get--for wood that is. It's useless on other things.

Some plastics are nearly impossible to glue things to (polyethylene for example) unless you get very special glue. Gorilla glue and super glue don't stick to polyethylene very well at all (what you you think they make the bottles for these glues out of). Plastic is one of the hardest things to glue in general--personally I'd avoid the liquid glues and keep trying with the tape.

Anyway, 3M makes literally hundreds of different kinds of tapes. The "serious" ones are very strong indeed. If your trim is not sticking with that, then I can think of only two issues:

Either of the surfaces to be bonded may be dirty or contaminated. Clean them very carefully before bonding.